Belief Revision Workshop

7th World Congress and School on Universal Logic

Orthodox Academy of Crete, Greece
April 1 – 11, 2022

Keynote Speaker

Giorgos Flouris

Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas (FO.R.T.H.)
Institute of Computer Science (I.C.S.)
Information Systems Laboratory (I.S.L.)
Vassilika Vouton
Heraklion, Crete


Rafael Testa (CLE-Unicamp, Brazil)

Belief Revision (Belief Change) is the research field that makes use of tools and methods of formal logic to produce models of how human and artificial agents change their beliefs in response to new information. These models serve as a basis for understanding how beliefs can be changed, and how these changes can be regarded as rational. This is a multidisciplinary task, with applications to several areas including Formal Epistemology, Artificial Intelligence, Ontology, Databases, and many more.

The aim of this workshop is twofold: on the one hand, we intend to provide an introduction to the subject, tackling distinct models presented in the literature. On the other hand, we intend to gather contributions related to distinct applications and studies on the ramifications of the area.

Call for Papers

We welcome contributions to the formal foundations of Belief Revision and studies from other areas that show the use of, or contributions to, the principles or practice of Belief Revision. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Foundations and History of Belief Revision
  • Applications of Belief Revision
  • Update
  • Belief Merging
  • Argumentation
  • Judgment Aggregation
  • Reasoning about knowledge and belief
  • Epistemic and Doxastic Logics

To submit a contribution, please send a one-page abstract to: unilog2022@rafaeltesta.com
Accepted submissions will be invited to submit a paper to a book or a special issue that will be edited by the organizers after the workshop.

Important dates

Submission: October 31st, 2021
Notification: November 7, 2021
Worskhop: 6-11 April , 2022 (the workshop will take place at some point during the UNILOG congress).



Workshops at UNILOG 2022

About UNILOG 2022

Organizing Committee

Jean-Yves Beziau (Co-Chair), University of Brazil, Rio de Janeiro and Brazilian Academy of Philosophy

Maria Dimarogkona, Dept of Mathematics, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Kostas Dimitrakopoulos, Department of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Athens, Greece

Christafis Hertonas, Dept of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Thessaly, Greece

Giorgos Koletsos, Division of Computer Science, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Ioannis Kriouvrekis, Dept of Mathematics, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

– Eftychios Papadopetrakis, University of Patras & Greek Mathematical Society, Branch of Chania, Greece

Nikos Spanoudakis, Applied Mathematics and Computers Laboratory, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Petros Stefaneas (Co-Chair), Dept of Mathematics, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Ioannis Vandoulakis (Co-Chair), School of Humanities, Hellenic Open University, Greece

Stathis Zachos, Division of Computer Science, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Scientific Committee

Arnon Avron, University of Tel-Aviv, Israel

Johan van Benthem, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands and Stanford University, USA

Patrick Blackburn, Roskilde University, Denmark

Ross Brady, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia

Carlos Caleiro, IST, Lisbon, Portugal

Mihir Chakraborty, Calcutta Logic Circle and IIIT Delhi, India

Newton da Costa, UFSC, Florianópolis, Brazil

Michael Dunn, School of Informatics, Indiana University, USA

Dov Gabbay, King’s College, London, UK

Val Goranko, University of Stockholm, Sweden

Andrzej Indrzejczak, University of Lodz, Poland

Gerhard Jaeger, University of Bern, Switzerland

Arnold Koslow, City University of New York, USA

Srecko Kovac, Philosophy Institute, Zagreb, Croatia

Elena Lisanyuk, University of St Petersurg, Russia

Maria Manzano, University of Salamanca, Spain

Raja Natarajan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India

Istvan Nemeti, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest

Mykola Nikitchenko, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, Ukraine

Francesco Paoli, University of Cagliari, Italy

Ahti-Veikko Pietarinen, Nazabayev University, Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan

Göran Sundholm, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Vladimir Vasyukov, Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia

Heinrich Wansing, Bochum University, Germany